Such a great daughter! 11/18/17

We are settling back into the home routine and gearing up for Thanksgiving. Our adult daughter who lives with us has offered to really help out and protect my poor aching back from too much time on my feet in the kitchen. Already she has helped me peel 42 onions for our Thanksgiving roasted creamed onions and accompanied me to the Farmer’s Market to get butternut squash and brussel sprouts. Plus she made dinner!

As a part-time vegan I started off the day with steel-cut oatmeal with flaxseed and blueberries and then for lunch had one of my Trader Joe’s Quinoa Cowboy burgers that I stuffed into a pita pocket. I tried to get around the mushiness by microwaving it briefly and then searing the burger on the stovetop. It still came out pretty mushy and did not hold its shape as I put it in the pita. Actually that worked out pretty well since I could get the burger into the corners. The picture looks pretty unattractive but it tasted good.

TJ’s Quinoa Cowboy burger

For dinner our daughter made a pork curry with brown rice and black sesame seeds. It is creamy and and tart from buttermilk and sour cream.  Here is the recipe from her site, Braisinhussy.  http://www.braisinhussy.com/2016/10/24/improving-on-an-old-favorite/Seriously this could be great with tofu instead but she is not the vegan/vegetarian type and I was certainly not going to undermine her kind effort.  She was afraid that she had made it too spicy for me but I found probably less spiced than I would have liked. Anyway what a great daughter to be so helpful and considerate!

This entry was posted in Grains, Poultry, rice, Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment