Balance your plate – 7/19/17

Ideas keep changing about how we should eat. I think balanced is probably the best way. But the proportions towards that balance have also changed. I used to make my plate in thirds – protein, complex carbohydrate, and vegetable. These days I am more like 4/5 vegetable and starch and 1/5 protein, especially if that protein is meat.

we have been eating a lot of vegetarian meals lately so I thought I would throw my husband a bone (so to speak.) I bought a rib cap steak from the prime meat section at Costco. He started it on the grill on the cooler side and finished it on the hot side. He used his trusty thermopen to check its temperature. In the meantime I steamed some new potatoes and cooked snow peas with cherry tomatoes and oregano in a little oil.

New potatoes and snow peas with a small portion of rib cap steak

 

This entry was posted in Beef, Grilling, Healthy tips, Meat, Vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

