Rigatoni with White Bolognese – 11/2/16

I have been to Italy over 20 times but I have never been to Bologna. I do not even know what there is to see there!  Maybe next time I shall make sure it is on my visit list.  One thing I do know is that I like Bolognese sauce so when I saw this recipe for white Bolognese on the NYT cooking website I thought I would give it a try.

Rigatoni with white Bolognese

Rigatoni with white Bolognese

Making the sauce was quite time consuming. There are a lot of steps where you have to add a lot of liquid and then let it reduce all the way down.  It’s not like you are doing a lot of active cooking but you need to be in the kitchen to keep an eye on things. Although the recipe did not call for it, I should have de-greased the pot early on because it turned out a little oily.  Between all the tasting to tweak the flavors, I was basically full before we had dinner.

The dish tasted quite good but for the leftovers I think I might put tomatoes in to make it more traditional and serve it with penne instead of rigatoni. Also, I think to make a lighter dish I might use ground turkey and chicken or turkey sausage with plenty of fish sauce to cut the sweetness.

This entry was posted in Bacon or Sausage, Beef, Meat, Pasta, Pork, Vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

