August 12, 2016 – $0.99/lb. Chicken

I went to the store on Friday to replenish my vacation-emptied kitchen. John and I planned a menu and chicken was not on my list. But whole chicken was on sale for $0.99/lb. and I could not resist a bargain. For $5.60 I can make three meals.

BBQ glazed chicken with couscous and broccoli

BBQ glazed chicken with couscous and broccoli

Here is the first meal, pan-roasted wings, thighs and drumsticks with a BBQ sauce glaze, couscous with green onions, parsley, and a fresno chile, and simple steamed broccoli. Obviously I made too much food. With the leftovers and the stock I made from the chicken carcass, today we had what we call sludge soup, meal #2. I added some vegetables which float on top and the leftover couscous sinks to the bottom and creates the sludge. Meal #3 will be something made out of the two chicken breasts that I have frozen.  Two tasty and economical meals!

Sludge soup!

Sludge soup!

 

This entry was posted in Poultry, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

