May 3, 2016 – Lentil Stew

Lentil stew with mushrooms, carrots, celery, and onions

Lentil stew with mushrooms, carrots, celery, and onions

What could be more comforting than a big pot of lentil stew! I debated whether I should call this soup or stew but decided it was thick enough for stew. I actually made this the day before because I wanted to use some of the lentils with my leftover farro yesterday. First I made a mirepoix of celery, onions, and carrots cut up quite small.  I sautéed them along with the mushrooms.  Then added water, or vegetable stock, or chicken stock depending on your nutritional lifestyle. When the lentils were cooked through I added a large chop of carrots and celery and cooked them briefly. You want them with a little crunch. Topped the stew with chopped parsley, green onions, and a drizzle of olive oil.

Note: Non-vegans/vegetarians might enjoy some sort of firm, cooked sausage in this.

This entry was posted in Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

