April 28, 2016 – Chicken breast with farro and broccoli

Chicken breast with farro and broccoli

Chicken breast with farro and broccoli

Well, this picture turned out looking darker than it was! I think it is because I used a bunch of broccoli stem pieces that picked up some color from the shallots. Honestly, I did not overcook the broccoli! I used the brown rice oven cooking method for the farro. (Spray dish, 1 1/2 cups rinsed farro, 1 tsp. olive oil,  1 tsp. table salt, 2 1/3 cups boiling water, cover tightly, 375F oven for 1 hour) Recently I bought broccoli on the stalks which is sometimes not available (just the floret part is always available.) I used the top for a pasta dish and saved all the stalks. When they are peeled they are tender and delicious!  John pan roasted the chicken expertly.

I went to a nutritionist once in my never ending weight battle and she suggested that my plate should be 2/3 vegetable and complex carbohydrate and only 1/3 protein. For someone like me who prefers vegetables and starches way more than meat, it was no problem. However, it didn’t really help with the weight loss because my portion sizes are too big. What can I say? I love to eat!

This entry was posted in Poultry, Vegetables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

