April 12, 2016 – Chicken Monday

Chicken breast with roasted butternut squash and zucchini

Chicken breast with roasted butternut squash and zucchini

I am back after three weeks in Italy where we dined on a lot of pasta and many pizzas along with almost daily disappointing over-cooked vegetables. I have decided that the best way to eat vegetables when traveling in many European countries is to have them either pickled (Northern Europe) or in salads (mostly everywhere else.)

I enjoyed my vacation from “dining lite” but it is good to be home again and in control. I tried to convince John that it was Meatless Monday but he has a lot of years of Chicken Monday ingrained in him. So chicken for dinner on Monday and Meatless Tuesday tomorrow.

As per usual John cooked the chicken perfectly and I roasted and mashed a butternut squash and prepared the zucchini with onions, mushrooms, and garlic. It was a comforting American style dinner.

A note about vacation weight results: Although I ate pretty much whatever I wanted but no desserts and drank a glass or two of wine at dinner, I did not gain any weight! This is because we walked and walked, up to 6 or 7 miles a day. I need to start sightseeing in my hometown!

This entry was posted in Poultry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

