Friday, January 23, 2015 A quick dinner

The other day while John was at work I took a look in the refrigerator and found some things that needed finishing up. I had some potatoes left from Party Night. I had some of a bagful of baby kale. Hmm, what to do. I see a recipe from Food and Wine which is a combo of Italian sausage, kale, white beans and tomatoes. In the comments about their experience with the dish, someone mentions that they also put in potatoes.

I’ve got onions, garlic, potatoes, carrots, kale, some old mushrooms, canned tomatoes and a can of cannellini beans. I don’t have Italian sausage but I do have smoked turkey sausage. Perfect. I cook these to a stew-like consistency and add a lot of chipotle powder for a smoky, spicy flavor. I store it in the refrigerator for an emergency dinner.

Tonight we need a quick dinner before going to a concert by Hookslide in San Jose. This is the perfect time to pull this already-made dinner out. It is good, quick and filling.

This dinner can also be vegetarian by eliminating the turkey sausage.

White beans, turkey sausage and kale

White beans, turkey sausage and kale

This entry was posted in Poultry, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday, January 23, 2015 A quick dinner

  1. Heidie Makes says:

    Yummy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

