January 13, 2015 – When plans go awry – the too big breakfast

Today we go out to breakfast. We go out to breakfast on Tuesday every four weeks because our wonderful cleaning lady and her crew come to clean the house. I am really glad that we have this service. My cleaning people like to talk to me a lot. It is better that I not be around because it really slows them down and puts them behind for the rest of the day. So John and I leave early (7:45 AM.)

It is hard to find a reasonable breakfast. It’s all about the grand slam and how much food can you put on a plate. Today we go to the Black Bear Diner. They have a category which is labeled “lighter fare.” I choose one egg poached, bacon, toast with no butter and two strips of bacon. Oh, and also home fried potatoes. Poached egg is a good choice because there is not extra added fat. Put the egg on top of the unbuttered toast and that is a tasty breakfast. One egg and toast is what I should order. But the bacon and potatoes are calling to me. I am not impervious to their seduction. So now in front of me I have two slices of thick cut bacon and half a plate of delicious looking home fried potatoes as well as my lowly egg and unbuttered toast. What to do. I eat the bacon even though I really prefer thin sliced bacon. I eat 1/3 of the potatoes. I eat the egg on top of the unbuttered toast. It is all yummy. And now I have eaten more than half the amount I can have for the entire day and it is 9 AM!

My breakfast looks something like this except with one egg, one piece of toast, two strips of bacon and a lot of home fries.

My breakfast looks something like this except with one egg, one piece of toast, two strips of bacon and a lot of home fries.


I will not kid you, I love this breakfast but it really screws up the rest of the day. I decide to skip lunch. For dinner I have kale salad and lentil bolani. It is really not worthwhile to eat so much at breakfast that there is hardly anthing left for the rest of the day. Sigh.
Kale salad with bolani

Kale salad with bolani

This entry was posted in Meat, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

