January 8, 2015 – Shrimp with brown rice and pea pods

I decide to go with a toasted sandwich round and peanut butter for breakfast today. All the breakfasts I eat are about 200 calories but the PB breakfast has the most chance of creeping up. I always measure my portion carefully, scraping off the peanut butter that mounds up on my half tablespoon. I remind myself that peanut butter that sticks to the bottom of the spoon also is not mine to have. Each half of my toasted sandwich round gets a half tablespoon. Any peanut butter that is left on my half tablespoon measure is donated to John.

Yum, peanut butter!

Yum, peanut butter!


Lunch was the same lunch as Monday except with mustard instead of mayo.

For dinner we had one of my favorite choices, shellfish. This time shrimp. I am lucky to be able to eat this since both of my sisters are allergic to shellfish. Somehow I managed to dodge that bullet. Our dinner tonight was skewered shrimp with steamed pea pods and brown rice cooked by the Cook’s Illustrated oven method (spray a 9 X 9 baking dish, add 1.5 cups rice, 2 1/3 cups of boiling water, 1 tsp. salt, cover tightly and put in a 375 degree oven for 1 hour. When done fluff, recover for 5 minutes. Perfect rice every time.)

Grilled shrimp, brown rice and pea pods

Grilled shrimp, brown rice and pea pods

This entry was posted in Shellfish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

