January 7, 2015 – Lamb chops with sweet potato and broccoli

Before we get to dinner, here is another one of my many different breakfasts – a sandwich round topped by 1 oz. of ham and a slice of non-fat cheese (cheddar flavored). John and I refer to this ersatz cheese as chez. It helps to differentiate when we are talking about real cheese and faux cheese. We also call the vegetable breakfast patties we had yesterday, snausages. “What are you having for breakfast this morning, John?” I ask. “Oh, I think I’ll have a snausage and chez McMuffin,” replies John. I know exactly what he’s talking about.

Multi-grain light English muffin with ham and chez

Multi-grain light English muffin with ham and chez

Because we are having red meat tonight I have to be really careful in my choices today. Red meat packs a much higher caloric punch than chicken (good), fish (better), or shellfish (even better.) Really, eating a plant based diet would be the best but it’s hard for us to eat vegetarian or vegan and feel satisfied. For lunch I have two of things that I picked up at Costco yesterday, bolani and baby kale. This lunch, low in calories and high in fiber and antioxidants, not only tastes good but takes a pretty long time to eat. It gives my brain time to know that I am full.

Kale salad with bolani

Kale salad with bolani


Dinner is a pretty straightforward affair – roast the sweet potato, steam the broccoli, and grill the lamb chops.
Grilled lamb chops, roasted sweet potato, and steamed broccoli

Grilled lamb chops, roasted sweet potato, and steamed broccoli

This entry was posted in Meat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

