January 6, 2015 – Whole wheat pasta with tuna and broccoli

I can’t eat breakfast until I figure out what I am eating for dinner. How much I can eat for breakfast and lunch is predicated on what we are fixing for supper. Since Tuesday is usually GBOF day (giant bowl of food), we are going with lower-in-calories and higher-in-fiber whole wheat penne with canned tuna and broccoli. This is a great pantry dinner. Even if you don’t have fresh broccoli you can substitute in a frozen vegetable. It’s a tasty, easy, and filling diet dinner.

But first a word about breakfast and lunch. For breakfast today I eat a Morningstar breakfast pattie on a multi-grain light English muffin. These patties are a fine substitute for fattier and higher caloried pork sausage.

Morningstar breakfast pattie (original flavor) on a multi-grain light English muffin

Morningstar breakfast pattie (original flavor) on a multi-grain light English muffin


I don’t really like to eat the same thing two days in a row. I know there are people who, when they are dieting, eat the same things day in and day out because they do not really want to have to think about it. Since my two previous diets both lasted over a year, I need some variety. (In those two diets I lost 60 and 70 pounds. This time I only have to lose 50!) So my lunch today is at least a variation on a theme – deli ham on a multi-grain sandwich round with mustard, lettuce and tomato served open-faced.
Open-faced ham sandwich

Open-faced ham sandwich


After lunch John and I go to Costco. I am so into my diet that I am not even tempted by the free samples. While at Costco we pick up a package of lentil bolani which make a very filling snack or lunch and a bag of baby kale for salads.
Bolani - a thin, stuffed, Afghani crepe

Bolani – a thin, stuffed, Afghani crepe


Baby kale because who couldn't use a little superfood!

Baby kale because who couldn’t use a little superfood!


Our dinner tonight is salad and penne with tuna and broccoli. I love a big bowl of food for dinner! To keep calories down and fiber up we use whole wheat pasta. I’ve saved some broccoli stems and mix the diced pieces of stem in with the florets. Yay, for GBOF Tuesdays!
Mixed salad of baby kale, other lettuces, mushrooms, and tomatoes

Mixed salad of baby kale, other lettuces, mushrooms, and tomatoes


Whole wheat penne with broccoli and tuna

Whole wheat penne with broccoli and tuna

This entry was posted in Fish, Pasta and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

