January 5, 2015 – Chicken, green beans and butternut squash

A word about my methodology. I basically follow an old Weight Watchers program. I worked for Weight Watchers for several years about 20 years ago so I am most familiar with the program that was ongoing then. It worked for me. I see no reason to fiddle around with a winning (or losing) procedure.

First, most importantly I keep a food diary. I like to decide what I am planning on eating for the day and write it down first thing in the morning. For some reason it helps to keep me honest. I am making a commitment for a day’s worth of eating and all I have to do is fulfill it. As soon as we figure out our exercise routine, I’ll put that in as well.

Food Diary

Food Diary


I start today’s eating with a favorite breakfast – scrambled egg and English muffin. I like my scrambled eggs cooked soft so that I can spread them on the English muffin almost like jam. I cook them with a little butter spray, toast my multi-grain light English muffin, John makes my tea and I print out today’s New York Times crossword puzzle. What an enjoyable way to start the day! Even when I am not dieting I rarely overeat at breakfast.
One egg scrambled on a light multi-grain English muffin and a cup of tea

One egg scrambled on a light multi-grain English muffin and a cup of tea


At lunch today I eat my usual open-faced sandwich. This one is chicken with tomato, lettuce and a little low calorie mayonnaise. I use the large lettuce leaves as a top for the sandwich, like bread. I also have a cup of 60 calorie soup. Much like breakfast, this is rarely a meal at which I overeat except if we happen to go out. We eat the vast majority of our lunches at home.
Open-faced chicken sandwich

Open-faced chicken sandwich


And now we come to the meal that gives me trouble, dinner. We have been starting the process around 5 PM, cocktail time. Usually there is wine and some sort of hors d’oeuvres. This is followed by cooking the meal while we enjoy more wine and more munchies. Then we eat dinner. So tonight we have popcorn and soft drinks. John cooks one chicken breast which we split and I make butternut squash and green beans with no butter added. We enjoy a glass of wine carefully measured to be just 4 ounces with dinner. I rarely eat dessert so that’s not a problem.

A very successful first day!

Pan roasted chicken with butternut squash and green beans

Pan roasted chicken with butternut squash and green beans

This entry was posted in Poultry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 5, 2015 – Chicken, green beans and butternut squash

  1. Pingback: January 8, 2015 – Shrimp with brown rice and pea pods | Dining Lite

Leave a Reply

