Pan roasted grouper with smashed chipotle rutabagas and green beans

I know, it’s chicken Monday. But I decided to break with tradition and serve the quintessential south Florida fish, the grouper. John cooked the grouper perfectly. First he got the pan really, really hot and then seared the grouper on all sides. After that it went into a 250 degree oven until it had barely turned opaque. It was fabulous. I made myself a little tartar sauce with light mayo, lemon juice, sweet relish, garlic powder and tabasco. Yum, it was so good. I had some challenges when making the sides. Usually when I make rutabagas I use the pressure cooker. But in our rental house here in Marco Island there is no pressure cooker. I made them in the microwave. It took a long, long time. It takes about five minutes in the pressure cooker and about 25 minutes in the microwave. They still were not pummeled to death even after all that time. So we had a rutabaga smash as opposed to a mash. I felt they needed a little help so I put in a teaspoon of light mayo and a little chipotle powder. Wow, did that make a difference. They were sweet, creamy and smoky with a little hot zing. The green beans I toasted in a pan with butter spray. They were okay, but not the best. The product left something to be desired. It is amazing to me that in a place like Florida where food can be grown year-round, that there is sub-optimal produce. But all in all, it was a really good dinner.

Pan roasted grouper with chipotle rutabagas and green beans

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

